Dataframe population can't figure out why one approach works and the other does not

Hi all
julia noob here. I’m trying to get to grips with changing some functionality in my code based on some excellent guidance from wonderful members of discourse. I have the code “working” but one approach SHOULD work and the other DOES work. I want to know what I am missing. Here is the situation.
thank you for any help.

I have the following dataframe ( from a csv)

Type      Symbol
 STK       XLU       
 STK       XLV     
 STK       XOP       
 STK       XRT       
 CASH      EUR       
 CASH      GBP       
 CASH      AUD       
 CASH      JPY       
 CASH      CHF     
 CASH      CAD       
 IND       VIX      
 IND       RVX       
 IND       VXN       
 IND       VXD      
 FUT       ES      
 FUT       CL  

I want just the STK rows so I filter

symbol_list = symbol_data[symbol_data.Type .== "STK", :]

and get

Type      Symbol
 STK       XLU       
 STK       XLV     
 STK       XOP       
 STK       XRT       

so far so good. NOW comes the tricky bit

I want to build a Dataframe like this

Symbols price ticksize
XLU           0.0       0.0
XLV           0.0       0.0
XOP           0.0       0.0
XRT           0.0       0.0

someone was kind enough to send me this code

df = DataFrame(symbols = symbol_list, price = zeros(length(symbol_list)), tickSize = zeros(length(symbol_list)))

which gives me this error

RROR: MethodError: no method matching length(::DataFrame)
Closest candidates are:
  length(::Union{Base.KeySet, Base.ValueIterator}) at ~/julia-1.7.0/share/julia/base/abstractdict.jl:58
  length(::Union{LinearAlgebra.Adjoint{T, S}, LinearAlgebra.Transpose{T, S}} where {T, S}) at ~/julia-1.7.0/share/julia/stdlib/v1.7/LinearAlgebra/src/adjtrans.jl:171
  length(::Union{DataStructures.OrderedRobinDict, DataStructures.RobinDict}) at ~/.julia/packages/DataStructures/vSp4s/src/ordered_robin_dict.jl:86

as does