DataFrame; create new column of integers representing strings in other column

Hi all,

Just a real bone question regarding DataFrames and how to create a new column containing integers to represent each unique string in another column. Sorry if my example is a bit rubbish, I’m new to Julia and not the best coder to begin with… Anyway, I have a DataFrame with a String31 column containing 53 unique site names. I am attempting to create another column containing integers (1:53), with each integer representing each unique site, if that makes sense. As an example (I don’t know how to add code):

test = DataFrame(site = [“site_one”, “site_two”, “site_three”], charcoal = [0.789, 0.232, 0.451])

gives me:

3×2 DataFrame
Row │ site charcoal
│ String Float64
──┼──────────────────────
1 │ site_one 0.789
2 │ site_two 0.232
3 │ site_three 0.451

So far, I have been trying:

test[:, :site_int] = map(test[:, :site]) do b
if b == “site_one”
elseif b == “site_two”
elseif b == “site_three”
else
missing
end
end

And it seems to work, but I can’t work out how to loop it/vectorise it to number each of the 53 sites; I am guessing there is a more sophisticated way of achieving this than just typing out each site name and assigning a value.

I hope this makes sense and someone could give me a hand in working it out. Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Gregg

Sorry, I forgot to give an example of what I want:

3×3 DataFrame
Row │ site charcoal site_int
│ String Float64 Int64
─────┼────────────────────────────────
1 │ site_one 0.789 1
2 │ site_two 0.232 2
3 │ site_three 0.451 3

The standard way to do it is to use CategoricalArrays.jl:

julia> using CategoricalArrays

julia> test.site_int = levelcode.(categorical(test.site))
3-element Vector{Int64}:

Note that:

1. by default levels are sorted in ascending order (but you can use any order you like - see the levels! function).