Data Coordinates included in plot (Matlab calls it data tip)

I often plot the spectra of the vibration of rotating machines. Here it is critical to know the actual frequency and amplitude of the major sources of vibration. The most convenient way to obtain these values is by plotting the spectra, and then using the mouse to label the peaks in the plot. Matlab calls these data tips. Other custom vibration packages have similar functionality.

I have been searching for a way to do this in a Julia plotting package, mostly by looking at images, as I am new to Julia. This functionality seems to be hard to find.

One workaround is shown in Add Labels and Text to Matplotlib Plots: Annotation Examples, where if the (x, y) values are known they can be plotted programmatically. I am not sure if this functionality exists in plots.jl. A similar approach may be possible in Gadfly Tutorial · Gadfly.jl. About half way down they show an annotation for the creature. Presumably this could be replaced with the (x,y) pair.
Please let me know what you use to annotate plots with a point on a curve that the curser highlights and how well it works.

1 Like

It isn’t entirely clear to me from the question what you want:

• Do you want to just annotate your plot?
julia> using Plots

julia> plot(rand(10), annotate = (5, 0.5, "my text here"))

• Do you want to see (x,y) coordinates of a plot on mouse hover? This works e.g. with the Plotly backend for Plots.jl:
julia> using Plots; plotly()

julia> plot(rand(10))

• Or do you want to be able to click on a point in your graph and have those coordinates labelled upon clicking? I don’t have an exact idea of how that would work, but I assume you’d have to write some custom code that allows for recording mouse click events - there’s an example of how to do it using PyPlot.jl here: Storing mouse click event coordinates in PyPlot window. Once you’ve recorded the mouse click event you can re-plot with an annotation added.
1 Like