Cumbersome array reshaping for broadcasting, unlike numpy

I’m still new to julia but one of my favorite aspects is dotted broadcasting syntax with my own custom and fast functions. However, in many cases I still find it cumbersome to use this functionality compared to my usual numpy syntax, at least with my current knowledge of julia.

Often arrays don’t have matching shapes for broadcasting because their dimensions don’t correspond. To make them fit, you can use None or np.newaxis:

a = np.random.rand(3, 5)
b = np.random.rand(4, 6)
c = a[:, None, :, None] + b[None, :, None, :]
c.shape == (3, 4, 5, 6)

In my opinion this is easy to write and read. I think in julia I’d have to use reshape. But for this I need to know all dimension sizes and can’t just use colons if I mean the whole dimension:

sa = size(a)
sb = size(b)
c = reshape(a, (sa[1], 1, sa[2], 1)) .+ reshape(b, (1, sb[1], 1, sb[2]))

Is there a better way to do this that I’m not aware of?

Best,
Julius

2 Likes

I must confess that I’ve never come across this usecase. What sort of things do you use it for?

So you want to insert singleton dimensions? I thought maybe I could get permutedims to help me, but that didn’t work. The obvious answer is reshape, as you already know. One simplification would be this:

c = reshape(a, (size(a,1), 1, :, 1)) .+ reshape(b, (1, size(b,1), 1, :))

Not a huge improvement, though.

1 Like

I have to admit I’m struggling to understand what the numpy code actually means. You have a matrix of size 3x5 and want to add it to a matrix size 4x6, so this isn’t standard matrix addition. What is this operation trying to do intuitively?

If you want to sum each element in a to each element in b something like

reshape([i + j for i ∈ a for j ∈ b], 3,4,5,6)

or to keep the dimensions more general

reshape([i + j for i ∈ a for j ∈ b], size(a)..., size(b)...)

could work, but I’m not sure whether that’s what you’re trying to do?

That seems to be a nice shorthand notation in numpy.