CUDA atomic add for ForwardDiff duals?

Hi everyone,

I’ve been trying to auto differentiate some code that runs on the GPU using ForwardDiff. Some of the kernels perform an atomic addition operation via CUDA.@atomic, but that doesn’t seem to be supported for ForwardDiff.Dual types. Is there a way to define that behavior myself? Would it even be possible? The functionality I’m looking for is similar to what was offered by this old CUDAatomics code found here: alandion/CUDAatomics.jl (github.com), except the partial field contains a ForwardDiff.Partial and not just a Float32. If it’s possible but requires some work, I am willing to look into how to do it and contribute if others are also interested, although it may take a while for me to learn the ropes as I am still quite new to CUDA.jl.

Here’s a sample toy problem (which I am aware can be done without the atomic operation):

using ForwardDiff
using CUDA

function test_kernel!(A, x, pows, nmax)
    i = (blockIdx().x - 1) * blockDim().x + threadIdx().x
    if i <= nmax
        #CUDA.@atomic A[1] += x[i]^pows[i]
        CUDA.atomic_add!(pointer(A, 1), x[i]^pows[i])
    end
    return
end

function objective_func(x::Vector{T}) where {T<:Real}
    nmax = 5
    x_gpu = cu(x)
    res = CUDA.zeros(T, 1)
    pows = CuArray{T}([1.0;2.0;3.0;4.0;5.0])
    nthreads = 5
    nbx = ceil(Int, nmax/nthreads)
    CUDA.@sync begin
        @cuda threads=nthreads blocks=nbx test_kernel!(res, x_gpu, pows, nmax)
    end

return Array(res)[1]
end

x_test = ones(Float32, 5)
println("Function Eval with Floats:")
display(objective_func(x_test))
println("Gradient Eval with Duals:")
display(ForwardDiff.gradient(objective_func, x_test))

Executing the code produces the following error: