CSV.jl type stability

I want to convert the rows of a CSV file into custom types in my own code. I have defined the Base.convert methods I need:

Base.convert(::Type{MyCustomType}, row::CSV.Row) = begin
    MyCustomType(
        a = row.a, 
        b = row.b, 
    )
end

However I notice this is fairly slow. I am a Julia beginner, but to me this seems like a type stability issue (i.e the types of row.a and row.b are not known at compile time).

So my questions are

1.) Is this a type stability issue?
2.) How can I make it type stable to increase performance?
3.) Will I need to build a custom parser that hardcodes the format/types of the data I am using for good performance? Is there a metaprogamming package that can do that for me?

the CSV is stored as column, so you probably don’t want to iterate row by row:

try GitHub - JuliaArrays/StructArrays.jl: Efficient implementation of struct arrays in Julia

@jling my workflow is to yield rows through iteration because I am working with many very large files. The rows are split across these files and even sometimes an individual file is too big for RAM. So I will be streaming data through the whole application which seems easier done on a row by row basis.

On the topic of type stability is the function above type stable?

why are they in CSV then?? you should use Arrow.jl

They get downloaded from the API in .csv.gz format. And I don’t want to save the data locally except for a small cache.

The individual files have been fitting in RAM on my laptop, but if I move to using some small EC2 instances for some of this stuff then I may run into issues. Haven’t done that however yet.

Regardless I am not looking for a new solution right now. Just trying to understand the type behavior of this function.

well, the first thing you should do after downloading is to convert them to .arrow then, CSV is just not suitable for this in multiple ways.

For row iteration speed, you wan TypedTables.jl

1 Like