Crashes and high utilization while training with Flux with GPU

Hey there lovely Julia community!

I’m quite new to Julia, but I’m so excited about all the awesome packages and the wonderful community. I’ve already used PyTorch a lot, also with GPU on several machines, and got it always working.

But now I’ve installed Flux and tried to execute the MNIST CNN from the Model Zoo. (https://github.com/FluxML/model-zoo/blob/master/vision/mnist/conv.jl) The first time it ran through but I noticed that there were spikes in GPU usage, where I couldn’t use my apps for a few seconds - I couldn’t scroll in Chrome but still could move the mouse cursor.
90% of all the next tries failed, because my monitors went black and I think some driver crashed - video driver or CUDA driver(not sure if these are the “same”?).

At the first time I thought it’s maybe because of RTX Voice, Folding@Home or BOINC running(but paused). But now I’ve killed all the tasks and still, it crashed halfway in training.
It’s always crashing after different times - sometimes directly after the training started, sometimes in the middle or near the end.

It’s saying this:

ERROR: WARNING: Error while freeing CUDAdrv.CuPtr{Nothing}(0x0000000d32000000):
CUDAdrv.CuError(code=CUDAdrv.cudaError_enum(0x000003e7), meta=nothing)

For my “honor”: I’ve also installed it on a different machine (P5000), also Windows, and there it worked flawlessly without these laggy performance spikes. But all the time Flux used a lot of VRAM - as far as I read, it’s because it reserves a lot of VRAM but it isn’t using it(so not bad, just a strategy)?

I’ve tried reinstalling CUDA. I’ve also restarted my computer several times. I tried to run this for the past 4 days.
Tested on Julia 1.4 and 1.4.1 with installing Flux, CuArrays, CUDAdrv, CUDAnative in many different ways. I also used the script(?) from the Model Zoo.

GPU RTX 2080 TI (EVGA Hybrid Cooled)
Using 3 Monitors so about 2GB VRAM is already used