Converting CSV string values to floats (Python to Julia)

I am very new to Julia and I am struggling with the following. I have a python hdf5 file in Python full of data and I convert it to a Python bumpy DataFrame which I then save to a csv file. Then I want to use this file in Julia but it looks much different than in Python:

Screen Shot 2021-01-31 at 11.25.54 PM|497x499

1. Python’s “0” index is converted to a header when I read the csv file in Julia
  2. In python I have a dataframe 100x1 but in Julia this gets converted to 99x2.

See attached images.

Furthermore, in Julia the data is converted into strings which means I cannot use them really. Can somebody help to figure this out?

I load the file in Julia using:

data = CSV.read("data.csv", DataFrame);

I also attach the csv here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/10KbvkyYv1Bmg4Kez2oRyuXiCgunDDUtH/view?usp=sharing

You should be able to load the HDF5 file directly using HDF5.jl. If that’s not an option, it’d help if you could provide the raw CSV file (or at least the first few rows) and whatever commands you’re currently using to load it. See this post for pointers on how to make your question easier to answer:

3 Likes

I just did as you said. I use the standard data = CSV.read("data.csv", DataFrame); command and I linked the csv file.

Your CSV file isn’t publicly visible with your current sharing settings. If you already have a GitHub account, the easiest thing is to upload it to gist.github.com.

Check again please.It is now.

1. Use the keyword argument header = false in CSV.read
  2. Figure out how to use parse the column to an object of type Complex{Float64}, i.e.
julia> y = "65.4 + 98.2im"
"65.4 + 98.2im"

julia> parse(Complex{Float64}, y)
65.4 + 98.2im

What you need to figure out how to do is how to “clean” the values of your data frame so that they work with parse.

This involves

1. strip to remove extra white space
  2. using replace to remove the ( and ).

Here is a full example