Convert a number to a byte array

how to do it? I’ve been trying to find information for hours. and I don’t understand how to work with bytes ( I’m a C/C++ programmer).

NOT WORKING!
an example explaining the essence:
a = 0x1234
b = Array{UInt8}(undef,2)
b = copy(a)

you should get the following:
b[1] = 0x34
b[2] = 0x12
BUT:
b = 0x1234 (not array)

1 Like

I also want to know the answer.

You want reinterpret:

julia> a = 0x1234
0x1234

julia> b = reinterpret(UInt8, [a])
2-element reinterpret(UInt8, ::Vector{UInt16}):
 0x34
 0x12

You are confusing assignment with mutation.

4 Likes

Try this:

a = 0x1234
b = reinterpret(NTuple{2,UInt8}, a)
(0x34, 0x12)
4 Likes

thank you very much

how do I do the same with BigInt?

You can’t use reinterpret because a BigInt is stored as a pointer and some lengths, but you can get at the raw bytes in a variety of ways, from low-level (exploit the raw pointer) to high-level. The best-documented way is to use the digits! function:

julia> a = big(11)^100
137806123398222701841183371720896367762643312000384664331464775521549852095523076769401159497458526446001

jjulia> digits!(Vector{UInt8}(undef, ndigits(a; base=256)), a, base=256)
44-element Vector{UInt8}:
 0xb1
 0xe1
 0x4f
 0x64
 0xe2
 0x52
 0xe1
    ⋮
 0xcc
 0xf1
 0x0e
 0x71
 0xd8
 0x03

See also the discussion in BigInt to bytes — since that discussion, digits! got optimized using mpz_export as explained in the thread.

What are you trying to accomplish?

4 Likes

I am currently studying encryption algorithms. I was looking for solutions that would help me work at a high level (I was thinking about python). but I came across Julia. and now I’m trying to use it to do tests. and then write an optimized version in C

can you also suggest reverse operations?)

int ← array
BigInt ← array