Computation of eigenvalues of a sparse matrix that is given by a file in COO format

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to Julia, and I would appreciate your help in the following.

I have a complex, non-symmetric yet sparse matrix (800,000x800,000 with ~10M nnz) that is stored in a file in COO format, i.e., {row, col, real(a(row,col)), imag(a(row,col))}. I want to test Julia’s sparse eigenvalue solvers, and in that light, I would appreciate your help on how to load this file and parse it to an eigensolver in Julia (BTW, I want to compute ~100-200 eigenvalues only, and any suggestion on a suitable choice of an eigensolver will be much appreciated too!).

Thank you in advance for your consideration, and apologies if the above is a naive question to the community!

Hi @Eustace

the easiest way to load this data into a sparse matrix representation in julia is probably via two steps:

1. step: load the values in memory as they are (i.e. in COO format). This step depends on the file format (where by format here I mean the kind of file, e.g. .csv, .mat etc.). To load a CSV file, use CSV.jl. This should give you access to row, col, r, i (just my naming for the four columns). You then probably want to turn the two vectors holding real and imaginary parts into a single vector containing complex numbers. You can do that like: val = r + im * i
  2. step: Julia has support for sparse arrays in its standard library. It stores the data in CSC format, but its very easy to create a sparse matrix from COO format. The details are here: Sparse Arrays · The Julia Language but given the vectors above, it is simply m = sparse(row, col, val) (make sure to load the SparseArrays package via using SparseArrays). m is then a sparse matrix object (stored as CSC).