Comprehensive setup for including Unicode Julia code in LaTeX document

TL; DR: What is the complete setup for VSCode to run XeLaTeX or LuaLaTeX, with working examples using unicode characters with minted? I’ve looked everywhere, finding the latex-workshop.latex.tools in one spot, the latex-workshop.latex.recipes in another spot, then example .tex files elsewhere, and they don’t play nicely together. I am so confused.

So, I am new to the world of programming and spend more than half my time lost trying to understand what on earth everyone is talking about.

In this answer to a Stack Exchange question, Brad gives an example without the need to “define” new unicode characters (as with another answer to that question) because it has a huge variety of them.

In this post, the creator of LaTeX-Workshop discourages the use of the magic comment which is used in the Stack Exchange answer aforementioned, so I’ve deleted it. I also have no idea where the latex-workshop.latex.toolchain is meant to be copied-and-pasted (or edited).

I’ve learned from here that minted is better than listings because the former takes in the syntax highlighting and formatting rules from pygmentize, which I have installed through the python installer.

I’ve obtained an example of defining the xelatex tool from here. But it has no example of a recipe.

This guy’s example isn’t specific enough for me, i.e. VSCode settings are unclear to me.

The .tex file I have is as follows,

\documentclass[12pt]{article}

\usepackage[letterpaper]{geometry}
\usepackage{fontspec,unicode-math}
\usepackage{xunicode}
\usepackage{minted}

\setmonofont{FreeMono}

\begin{document}

\section{Example Code}
Hello, here is some code.

\begin{minted}{julia}
f(x) = x.^2 + π
const ⊗ = kron
const Σ = sum # Although `sum` may be just as good in the code.
# Calculate Σ_{j=1}^5 j^2
Σ([j^2 for j ∈ 1:5])
\end{minted}

\end{document}

With the following as my settings.json file for VSCode.

{
    "latex-workshop.latex.recipes": [