Composing probabilistic models

Hi, I’m quite new to Julia and I have stumbled upon Turing. It looks great and the documentation is nice but either I have missed something or simply it’s not possible.

I want to define models in a modular way and combine them. For example imagine I want to estimate the speed of a car moving at constant speed and I have two sensors: gps for measuring positions and radar for directly measuring speed. The following simple script shows that only copy-pasting in a single function works

using Distributions
using Turing

"""
x: position measure 
t: time measure 
speed: parameter
"""
@model function gps(t, x, speed)
    for i=1:length(x)
        x[i] ~ Normal(speed * t[i], 1.0)
    end
end

"""
v: speed measure
speed: parameter
"""
@model function radar(v, speed)
    for i=1:length(v)
        v[i] ~ Normal(speed, 5.0)
    end
end

"Compose gps + radar"
@model function fullmodel1(t, x, v)
    speed ~ Normal(0.0, 100.0)
    gps(t, x, speed)
    radar(v, speed)
end

"Copy-paste GPS + radar"
@model function fullmodel2(t, x, v)
    for i=1:length(x)
        x[i] ~ Normal(speed * t[i], 1.0)
    end
    for i=1:length(v)
        v[i] ~ Normal(speed, 5.0)
    end
end

"Compare fullmodel1 vs fullmodel2"
function testmodel(N=100)    
    speed = 5.0  # true value of speed
    # generate measurements
    t = LinRange(0, 120, N)
    x = speed .* t .+ randn(N)
    v = speed .+ randn(N)
    # estimate speed
    c1 = sample(fullmodel1(t, x, v), NUTS(0.6), 1000)
    c2 = sample(fullmodel2(t, x, v), NUTS(0.6), 1000)
    c1, c2
end

c1, c2 = testmodel()
println("Results for fullmodel1")
display(c1)
println("Results for fullmodel2")
display(c2)

The script will run but only fullmodel2 gives correct results. Eliminating speed as a parameter from gps or radar gives identical results.

Since I don’t know what magic is @model really doing behind the scenes I don’t know how to proceed and any help is welcomed.