Component-based model for N reactors connected to a tank

Say I’ve got 10 chemical reactors, which all flow into a single tank. The reactors all have different production rates for some species S. I’m interested in the concentration of S in the reactors and in the tank. I guess I should have a Reactor component (then I can have an array of 10 reactors), and a Tank component. How should they be connected? What should be my through/across variables?

I’m a novice here (and not an engineer), but starting from the RC-circuit analogy, my thought is that concentration neither sums like I nor is it shared like V. Mass flow of S and mass flow of H2O do sum, so they feel alright for through variables, but then I guess I’d need two corresponding across variables…? In the modelica book, they use pressure, but there’s only one of those. Maybe I should use two MassFlow components for my two chemical species (S and water), then add an equation that their pressures are equal…? Does that even make sense?

I’m lost! :slight_smile: An example would be very appreciated.

From preliminary experiments on my side, it looks like A) one can have a flow-only connector and it works just fine, B) it can cause a (spurrious?) error message, C) it can be fixed by adding a dummy across variable.

From this, simply modeling mass-flow-of-H2O and mass-flow-of-S should work.

You have referred to some Modelica resource for inspiration, hence I will continue: in the language specification in the Chapter 15 on Stream connectors they write