Comparison of Rust to Julia for scientific computing?

I had some students come ask me about implementing material from my numerical analysis course (which used Julia) in part of their Rust student group. I’m not an expert, but my feeling is that Rust is a “safer” language, which to me means it must be slower. That is, Rust is designed for “systems” where safety is more important than speed. Also, I believe the landscape for scientific computing packages in Rust is no where as developed as compared to Julia.

Anyone with more experience with Rust know if my intuition is correct? I’d hate to be unnecessarily discouraging to students trying to be proactive.

5 Likes

It’s safer for concurrent (and some more stuff than e.g. C) and I believe that part just works, and doesn’t make for slower. Julia and other languages with garbage collection (GC), are already safe regarding memory-handling, getting rid of some issues manual memory management has, and Rust does things differently, without GC, also in a safe way, unlike most languages without GC. I believe that neither makes for slower. I suppose Rust has bound-checking, by default, just as Julia, and that does make for slower, unless you opt out. Julia is the only language I know of that allows for doing that locally (plus globally), but I don’t know how Rust does it. It does allow for all safety off, so you can have full C speed (in parts of your code, then must be careful there).

Note also there’s a package for Rust to call Julia. I.e. then Rust is the “driver language”, and the package allows for bidirectional calling. Also you can have Julia as your main language, calling C, or Rust (I understand Rust allows for “extern C”, same as you can do for C++, there at least non-ideal, which you would use, and have to use in that case).

7 Likes

Non-scientific evidence seems to favor Rust slightly.

As Julia’s is in comparison to Python?

Edit: improved the reference.

1 Like