Comparing floating point numbers in an intuitive way fails within julia

Comparing floating point numbers I run into troubles when “0.0”, “-0.0” and “NaN” are possible values. To my mind there is no reasonable implementation of “isequal(x,y)” and “x==y”.

A reasonable implementation of comparison operators for (floating point) numbers would give the following response:

NaN == NaN —> true (but julia gives false)
0.0 == -0.0 —> true
isequal(NaN, NaN) —> true
isequal(0.0, -0.0) —> true (but julia gives false)

So neither “x==y” nor “isqual(x,y)” provides the desired boolean output. And they behave differently, what is the benefit for that? What is the use case for “NaN==NaN —> false” and for “isequal(-0.0,0.0) —> false”?

As an experiend programmer I can hardly accept that I have to spend time on such a trivial issue. You can only solve such a problem by inspecting the documentation. So I have to read documentation to be able to properly use “==” or “isequal()” operators/functions? Are the developers of julia aware of that? Are they serious about that? I bet that lots of people trip over that issue and do not understand the way these operators are implemented.

Of course, I can implement my own comparison function like:

my_isequal(x,y) = isequal(x,y) || x==y

but is this really the Julian-way of solving it? I question myself why I have to think about such kind of problems when I use a modern programming language like julia.

Regards,
Martin

The semantics of floating point comparison is standardized (see eg NaN - Wikipedia), shared by most programming language and implemented in hardware, so == behaving any differently (like what you’d suggest) would be massively disruptive. It seems from the docs the rationale for isequal is

isequal(x,y) must imply that hash(x) == hash(y).