Clarity on struct vs type

I’m just learning Julia, and I’m finding the docs not so clear on the differences between type and struct. In the docs there are no real examples of declaring custom types using the type keyword, instead there’s a section on composite types using struct. So I’m just pointing out that as a beginner the docs are leaving me with questions:

1. What is the difference between using struct and type, or mutable struct and type?
  2. Why would you choose one over the other? Why is struct used in the docs rathe than type?
2 Likes

type (and immutable) are deprecated, just use mutable struct (or just struct).

5 Likes

Cool, answers my question. I wasn’t getting any deprecation warnings (using 0.6.2).

Feels a bit unnatural to me to me, personally type seemed more sensible, but looks like there was a long discussion about it on #19157

EDIT: Actually, being more honest, this is the first thing I’ve come across in Julia which just seems flat out ugly.

I will not comment on the aesthetic part (I happen to like struct), but note that “type” is used in another, very specific sense by Julia (the thing that dispatch operates on, etc), so using it for composite types was just confusing.

8 Likes

Sure thing. I’m a beginner here so can’t see the bigger picture. Very much enjoying my journey though. Loving Julia so far :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Have been aware that type is noted to become deprecated in 0.7.0-alpha. Does this mean that an overhaul is due in the type section of the Docs?

AFAICT it has already been updated, I see no mention of type or immutable.

Sorry, I’m just a beginner. IIUC, the concept of type is not deprecated; it is only that the users shouldn’t define any type and they should use struct instead?

It was just a name change, to be clearer and more consistent, nothing else changed.

type → mutable struct
immutable → struct

(edit: it was also to make the preferred type of struct, immutable, to be the “default”)

2 Likes