Check each call has a corresponding method

I have a annoying problem which might be stupid. It is quite often that after I start my program for 10 min, julia tells me that a function call does not have a matched method (“no method matching”).

Usually the problem is simple and requires only a single line fix. But it’s annoying that my careless faults are found only when the function is really being called. I think this is the price we need to pay for the JIT and multiple dispatch approach, but I’m wondering if there is a tool like JET.jl which can find this kind of errors?

I don’t care about type stability at this moment, but just want to make sure each function call can be executed in the runtime. For example, something like @check_method func(bar) would check all function calls following func(bar), and give up and report the error if it finds one.

I am not a good programmer, so this makes really miss languages like c++ which can do more checks before runtime.

JET already does this, provided the method dispatch is done at compile-time, successful or not. This is consistent with AOT-compiled languages checking things before runtime.

julia> begin
       foo() = bar()
       bar() = baz(1)
       baz() = 0
       using JET
       end

julia> @report_call foo()
═════ 1 possible error found ═════
┌ foo() @ Main ./REPL[1]:2
│┌ bar() @ Main ./REPL[3]:1
││ no matching method found `baz(::Int64)`: baz(1)