Can't push a function into a function array

I am new to Julia. I am trying to initialize an array of functions, and add a function to it.
This is my code:

arr = Array{Function, 1}
push!(arr, sin)

And this is the error I’m getting

MethodError: no method matching push!(::Type{Array{Function,1}}, ::typeof(sin))
Closest candidates are:
  push!(::Any, ::Any, !Matched::Any) at abstractarray.jl:2095
  push!(::Any, ::Any, !Matched::Any, !Matched::Any...) at abstractarray.jl:2096
  push!(!Matched::Array{Any,1}, ::Any) at array.jl:860

What is my problem?

I also tried this version according to the documentation

arr2 = Array{Function}(undef, 1)
push!(arr2, sin)

but then arr2 is

2-element Array{Function,1}:
 #undef
    sin

and I cannot access the function. When I execute arr2[1] I get

UndefRefError: access to undefined reference

I do not understand why I get this behavior. I would love to some explanation.

Array{Function,1} is a data type. You want an instance of that data type, i.e. you want an actual array, i.e.

arr = Array{Function,1}()

Edit: To explain a bit more…

I do not understand why I get this behavior. I would love to some explanation.

arr2 = Array{Function}(undef, 1)

At this step, you have created a 1-element array of Function types with the first element initialized to undef.

push!(arr2, sin)

When you push sin to this array, you get a 2-element array of Function types, with the second element sin and the first is still undef.

and I cannot access the function. When I execute arr2[1] I get

Julia is 1-indexed, so arr2[1] is grabbing the first element of your array which is undef. If you grad arr2[2], it would be sin.

I hope this helps.

6 Likes

In addition to the excellent explanation of @anon67531922: since Function is not a concrete type, there is no speed gain from specifying it — you might as well use Any. Eg

julia> arr = Vector()
0-element Array{Any,1}

julia> push!(arr, sin)
1-element Array{Any,1}:
 sin
1 Like