Can't install any packages

I’ve been using Julia for six years. I moved to it from Python, but one thing I absolutely cannot do is install packages. So today when I saw a graph in Wolfram Alpha that didn’t look right (eventually I found the root issue seems to be that Wolfram Alpha thinks arcsin(sin(x)/2)) is equal to sin(x)/2) I decided I’d install a graphing calculator program on my computer…except why should I do that when I have Julia?! because I can’t install Plots.

So today is the day I suck it up and ask.

Accord to Plots, you install it with Pkg.add("Plots") which results in
Pkg.add(“Plots”)
ERROR: UndefVarError: Pkg not defined
Stacktrace:
[1] top-level scope at REPL[2]:1

The Julia documentation says to enter the package manager with “]” (okay so far) and enter “add Plots”. That last part failed with “ERROR: no active project” except it most certainly is an active project.

The no active project error refers to the term “project” as it’s used in the Pkg.jl documentation here: 4. Working with Environments · Pkg.jl

I’m not sure how you got into a state where there is no project active in your package manager. What do you get if you run ]status ?

And what version of Julia are you using? Have you done anything to your ~/.julia/config/startup.jl file?

1 Like
pkg> status
ERROR: no active project
$ julia --version
julia version 1.4.2
$ cat ~/.julia/config/startup.jl
cat: ~/.julia/config/startup.jl: No such file or directory

I installed Julia from the official Arch Linux repo.

It seems that you’re not the only one with problems with whatever Julia is being shipped by Arch: Clean Julia 1.0 install on Arch Linux -- Can't add packages - #11 by crbinz

You could try following the steps in that post (touching ~/.julia/environments/v1.4/Project.toml and ~/.julia/environments/v1.4/Manifest.toml` ) or you could try using the generic linux binaries from Download Julia .