Can this be more Juliesque?

Dear all,

I am a relative newbie in Julia, and what I am about to ask might sound ludicrously simple to you. So, here is the situation. I would like to introduce physical properties in a simulation program I am developing in Julia and they may be defined as constant, or as functions of other properties like temperature, time, or what have you. So, I would say I need some sort of abstraction going in the code. I came up with this:

abstract type AbstractProperty end

mutable struct ConstantProperty <: AbstractProperty
  constant :: Float64  # holds constant value of a property
  function ConstantProperty(a :: Float64)  new(a)    end
end

mutable struct EquationProperty <: AbstractProperty
  equation :: String   # holds an equation describing the property
  function EquationProperty(s :: String)  new(s)   end
end

function evaluate(a :: ConstantProperty)
  return a.constant
end

function evaluate(a :: ConstantProperty, e :: String)
  return a.constant
end

function evaluate(a :: EquationProperty, e :: String)
  return eval(Meta.parse(e*"; "*a.equation))
end

which behavior as I wanted. To be more precise, I can do:

julia> a = ConstantProperty(13.0)
ConstantProperty(13.0)

julia> b = EquationProperty("x^2")
EquationProperty("x^2")

julia> evaluate(a)

julia> evaluate(a, "x=2")

julia> evaluate(b, "x=2")

But, I am wondering, is there a better way to do it? I mean something which would be closer to Julia style, something more sophisticated or more robust? Can you already see some performance pitfalls that I am unaware of at this stage? It also seems to me I do not need the AbstractProperty at all :frowning:

Cheers

1 Like

I will not give advice on the programming style (I am still not that experienced a Julia programmer), but if I interpret your requirements/goals correctly, it seems to me that you are essentially trying to mimick what is already implemented elsewhere.