Can I convert a 'piece of code' to an expression object?

Well, the question is as simple as that. I’m almost done reading the metaprogramming section, on the manual. I’m completely new to the concept, and quite new to Julia too (although I’ve written some programs already and I’m used to python, whose syntax resembles Julia’s - albeit the programming style not quite so). As it seems to me, if I want my program to change pieces of code while running, I should define these pieces as expressions – for instance, defining a variable x = :(for i in 1:10 println(i) end) – and use eval() on them when needed, but I can’t do it the other way around, i.e., defining

x = for i in 1:10 println(i) end

and then using something over x yielding the expression

:(for i in 1:10 println(i) end).

Is that correct?

Not really. For most metaprograming you’ll use macros which is not eval.

Correct. Though it is not what the title suggest. x is not “a piece of code”. x is the result of an expression. There are ways, through reflection, to get “a piece of code” and it’s in principle possible to convert that to “an expression”. However, the result doesn’t carry any information about what it’s evaluated from so converting that to an expression is impossible.

1 Like
julia> parse("for i in 1:10 println(i) end") 
:(for i = 1:10 # none, line 1:               
        println(i)                           
    end)                                     

julia> eval(ans)                             

Correct, yes, usually macros are used. eval() is, though, the minimal operation over an expression that yields its value - that’s what I tried to mean: instead of defining a block of code, like a for loop, to define an expression that evals to this block of code.