Can a function returns a partial function?

Hi,
I am new to Julia coming from Python. In Python we have the “partial” function that allow to derive a function by fixing some arguments. Can we do something similar in Julia?
I would like to do something like:

function f(x, y, z)
x + y + z
end

and then create a function g(x) = f(x, y=computed_y(), z=computed_z())

I can obviously define f as f(x; y…, z=…) and then call f(x) but I have the feeling that computed_y and computed_z are called very time I call f while I would like them to be computed once only.

1 Like

How about this?

f(x, y, z) = x + y + z

computed_y() = (println("y_comp"); 2)
computed_z() = (println("z_comp"); 3)

g = let y, z
    y = computed_y()
    z = computed_z()
    g(x) = f(x, y, z)
end

g(1) == 6

Maybe a little bit awkward.

1 Like

See this discussion Is there a package to that can make partial functions automatically?

I think this is much better:

f(x, y, z) = x + y + z

computed_y() = (println("y_comp"); 2)
computed_z() = (println("z_comp"); 3)

@eval g(x) = f(x, $(computed_y()), $(computed_z()))

g(1) == 6

You should not need eval for this. A closure is fine, eg

f(x, y, z) = x + y + z
y, z = 2, 3
g = x -> f(x, y, z)
g(1)
1 Like

The reason is…@tog seems to want one liner, plus he seems to like to know how to interpolate computed_y() stuff into the arguments once and for all, not every time of invocation. Practically, you are right. :slight_smile:

I am not sure I understand what is meant here.

When we define g(x) in this way:
g(x) = f(x, computed_y(), computed_z())

Everytime we call g(x), computed_y() and computed_z() will have to be calculated.

What if we seek for an expression that looks very much like g(x) = f(x, computed_y(), computed_z()) but that takes the values of computed_x() and computed_y() only at the time of defining g(x)? I thought this was what @tog was really curious about, and @eval g(x) = f(x, $(computed_y()), $(computed_z())) may be close to what he looks for.