Callbacks causing wrong solution mixed ODE and Linear system

Hello,

I am new in Julia and tried to model a system with a discrete stepping feedback controller.

The system was modelled using ‘ModelingToolkit’ and thereafter converter to an ‘ODEProblem’.

The discrete feedback controller was given as a function and insert in the system by a ‘DiscreteCalback’.

A part of the variables of the system is equal to the feedback of the controller another part is given by differential equations.

When testing it, I noticed that the solution of the variables (of the system) equal to the feedback of the controller are returned as constant (equal to the value of the last time of the simulations) over the simulations time, but the other variable (given by an ODE relations to this variables) are correctly solved taken into account this stepping effect.

As given in the (simplified) code example below .

Thank you for your reply

using ModelingToolkit
using OrdinaryDiffEq
using Plots
# define basic ODEProblem
@parameters t p q
@variables u1(t) u2(t)
D = Differential(t)
eq= [D(u1) ~ -0.5*u1*p - u2,
      u2 ~ q]
@named f_test = ODESystem(eq, t; name =:f_test)
smp_sys = structural_simplify(f_test)
parameters(smp_sys)
u0_sys = [u1 => 10.0,
          u2 => 10.0]
p_sys = [p => 0.0, q => 0.0]
prob_sys = ODEProblem(smp_sys, u0_sys, (0.0, 10.0), p_sys)

# define callbacks 
const tstop1 = [5.0]
const tstop2 = [8.0]

function condition(u, t, integrator)
    t in tstop1
end

function condition2(u, t, integrator)
    t in tstop2
end

pos = 2
function affect!(integrator)
    integrator.p[pos] = 5
end

function affect2!(integrator)
    integrator.p[2] = -5
end

save_positions = (true, true)

cb = DiscreteCallback(condition, affect!, save_positions = save_positions)

save_positions = (false, true)

cb2 = DiscreteCallback(condition2, affect2!, save_positions = save_positions)

cbs = CallbackSet(cb, cb2)
const tstop = [5.0; 8.0]
# solve combined system