Building a chatbot with Julia, recommend starting points

Hello everyone,
I am new to programming and decided to pick Julia as my first programming language. My goal is to build an online chatbot which is aimed at interfacing with a specific website which doesn’t have an API and doesn’t support chatbot functionality of any kind (said platform is kind of antediluvian). So just to clarify - my browser is doing the interaction with said website.

The goal of this chatbot is to basically parse HTML inputs made by another person in a chat occurring on said website and make simple choices based on that input (e.g. either to reply in a certain way or to end the chat). Choices are made based on pre-defined criteria (somehow) set in the chatbot (e.g. if input is (any of x) do 1, if input is (any of y) do 2, else do 3. The way my chatbot could interface with that website is by interacting with various objects on that website (e.g. if x happens click on this red button aka element with this id or class). This will be sufficient for achieving something that I pompously call “stage 1 autonomy”. For stages 2 and 3 I’d like to research NLP and possibly integration with GPT-3 API, but those are things I don’t even understand so at this point they are irrelevant to my current goal.

So based on those requirements could you recommend me some starting points (e.g. what libs to take a look at, what books to read, what julia videos to watch etc.)? Also can you recommend me a strategy for tackling this problem (e.g. should I try old-school html parsing or should I use something like Selenium/Webdriver etc.). What techstack do I need for this? Ideally I’d like to build this project where I won’t have to do full rewrite when I start adding NLP functionality, but that might be impossible, so it’s not a priority.

Anyway thanks to all who provide help and suggestions.

2 Likes

Wow, okay. Absolutely no responses. I guess I picked the wrong programming language.