Broadcast two vectors to form a matrix

I made a simple function:

f(x,y)=x+y
res=[f.(x,1:9) for x in 1:9]

But, now it outputs a vector of vectors. I’d like instead for it to be a matrix.
Actually, I’m still very new to julia and I’ve grown pretty confused on weather I should use for loops or not; as much as I really like the broadcasting function for readability, nested for loops are also not that hard to read. My main concern is I have many functions like the above, and my simple approach has always been to not write a function and just do:

res=reshape(1:9,:,1) .+ reshape(1:9,1,:)

Having a bunch of scalar functions instead is much easier to troubleshoot, and change if required. But my functions sometimes need 3d output and do things like:

res=fill(NaN,9,9,9)
for i=1:9
    res[:,:,i]= i .+ reshape(1:9,:,1) .+ reshape(1:9,1,:)
end

What’s the best way to handle things like this, I definitely want better readability, but I also really want better performance.

first off, it’s much easier to just:

julia> (1:9) .+ (1:9)'
9×9 Matrix{Int64}:
  2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  10
  3   4   5   6   7   8   9  10  11
  4   5   6   7   8   9  10  11  12
  5   6   7   8   9  10  11  12  13
  6   7   8   9  10  11  12  13  14
  7   8   9  10  11  12  13  14  15
  8   9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16
  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17
 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18

whichever is more clear for your use case, Julia is not a language where for-loop would be slow anyway, it doesn’t matter much as long as you try to find the way to do it such that it’s clear and minimize memory stress

3 Likes

That’s excellent; thanks for such a quick response! That solved my first problem too! Now I have:

res=f.((1:9),(1:9)')

And it broadcasts properly! Now I’m only confused on how to implement more dimensions like the function:

g(x,y,z)=x+y+z

It should become something like:

res=fill(NaN,9,9,9)
for i=1:9
    res[:,:,i]= g.((1:9),(1:9)',i)
end