Box coordinates from image segmentation

Hi Everyone,
I’m new to the field of image segmentation, and I need your help to find a way of determining the coordinates of a box from image segmentation.

I have a batch of images like thie one:

I try to find a way of determining the zones/boxes corresponding to each page to “crop” these images directly with the IIIF API.

The ImageSegmentation package seems to be efficient for this task:

using Image
using ImageSegmentation
using HTTP
using FileIO
using Random

imgUrl = "https://api.nakala.fr/data/10.34847/nkl.027b840e/5c8e77a046216ab6aed848b2f781deb9495fea76"
file = download(imgUrl) |> load

function get_random_color(seed)
    Random.seed!(seed)
    rand(RGB{N0f8})
end

seg = fast_scanning(file, 0.2)
map(i->get_random_color(i), labels_map(seg))

ouput:

What I need to do now is find a way to determine the coordinates of the top left and bottom right points for both blue and green areas. Do you have any idea to achieve this task, or with another method?

Thanks for your help!
Best,
Josselin

I found a solution.
First, we take the segmentation matrix

segMap = labels_map(seg)

Then, from this matrix, we can retrieve the coordinates of all the pixels in a given segment. Then we can store the X and Y coordinates in two separate variables to finally determine a box around a segment (the black crosses on the image below):

coordinates = findall(x -> x == 1, segMap)
x = Vector()
y = Vector()

for c in coordinates
    push!(x, c[2])
    push!(y, c[1])
end

xStart = x[1]
xEnd = last(x)

sort!(y)
yStart = y[1]
yEnd = last(y)

Hope this makes sens!
Best

1 Like

You don’t need to sort an array to find the minimum and maximum. You should be able to just do:

segMap = labels_map(seg)
coordinates = findall(==(1), segMap)
xmin, xmax = extrema(c -> c[1], coordinates)
ymin, ymax = extrema(c -> c[2], coordinates)