OpenBLAS: Julia slower than R

Dear, I am not a programmer for Julia and so most likely my doubt is due to the little knowledge I have of Julia.

On a computer, I tried to produce similar codes from the Julia and R languages and got a lower performance on Julia. The codes are below:

Code Julia:

M = rand(Float64, 5000, 5000);

function inversa_loop(matriz, n)
     for i = 1:n
        inv(matriz)
    end
end

@time inversa_loop(M, 10)

Time: 65.243 sec

Code R:

M <- matrix(runif(n = 5000^2, 0, 1), 5000, 5000)

inversa_loop <- function(matriz, n = 10){
  for (i in 1:n){
    solve(matriz)
  }
}

system.time(inversa_loop(M))

Time: 30.231 sec

Later I tried to improve the Julia code by declaring the variable types to the inversa_loop function to see if this would help improve performance. As we can see, yes, there was an improvement in performance considering the code below:

Modified Julia code:

M = rand(Float64, 5000, 5000);
 function inversa_loop(matriz::Array{Int64,2}, n::Integer)
     for i = 1:n
	 	inv(matriz)
	 end
 end

@time inversa_loop(M, 10)

Time: 43.654 sec

Then I noticed that maybe Iā€™m doing an unfair comparison, since the solve function of R is implemented in C or Fortran and the inv is implemented in Julia. In this way, I can understand that purely Julia codes are generally more efficient than purely written R codes.

However, why common functions of linear algebra in Julia were not implemented using C/C ++? Would not that be a way to eliminate those cases where we have R functions running more efficiently than purely written codes in Julia? Perhaps there is a technical reason that justifies and I do not know. Maybe itā€™s just a matter of philosophy of language. Perhaps the reason is the belief that in the near future the LLVM machine will evolve to the point of eliminating those differences.