Bifurcation analysis with history in ODEs

Hello, I’m relatively new to using Julia and I am trying to do bifurcation analysis.

I have a system of ODEs in which one DE depends on the history of another variable (i.e. du[2] depends on history of u[1]). From what I understand there are a few options how to implement this:

1. Have the history as a parameter and update it using callbacks
  2. Have the history as a parameter, use the integrator interface and update it explicitly with each step

I haven’t been able to understand if I can (or how to) use either of these methods with BifurcationKit.jl. Are either of these methods compatible with bifurcation analysis using BifurcationKit.jl? Or is there a better way to implement this?

Thanks!
Nils

This sounds like a typical DDE problem

https://diffeq.sciml.ai/stable/types/dde_types/

Can you say more about the way u_2 depends on the history of u_1?

Hi,

It is a DDE problem like said above. For the bifurcation analysis, it depends what you have in mind. If you want to compute the stability of stationary points and detect bifurcations, it would not take me very long. If you want to compute periodic orbits, more work is needed.

Thank you both for your responses. The DDE problem looks to be the thing I need. For the history I need a vector of u1 values from t-tau to t. If I understand the documentation correctly I could do this by setting constant_lags to a vector of lags?

And yes I at the moment I am only interested in the stability of stationary points and the detection of bifurcations.

1 Like

Can you post the DDE? some are much easier to handle than others

I have a strong suspicion what problem you are trying to solve but it would really help if you could explicitely say how u_1 depends on u_2 in your system.

This is your attempted solution (which intuitely makes sense). However, instead of telling us your solution it would be more helpful to know more about your problem.

See also https://xyproblem.info/

Hi,