Better handling of pathnames

I’m new to Julia, loving it. As I’m used to Common Lisp, I kinda miss a pathname structure. Of course I understand strings are easier to deal with, yet they lead to mistakes. The package FilePaths.jl is nice, yet it is weird to have to call string(path) when using other packages like OdsIO or CSV. I think it’s not a nice practice to define methods belonging to another one’s package for another one’s classes (e.g. csv_read(file::Path; kwargs...) = CSV.read(string(file); kwargs...)), since a third person could redefine them another way.

One approach would be to create methods for functions that expects strings, e.g.

csv_read(file::AbstractPath; kwargs...) =
    CSV.read(string(file); kwargs...)
csv_write(file::AbstractPath, table; kwargs...) =
    CSV.write(string(file), table; kwargs...)
# etc

I don’t like that very much.

For that reason, I was thinking about creating a new package with pathnames as a subtype of AbstractString, specifying a unique string representation for each pathname (like TCL does, what a nice language!). That way, one deal with pathnames as structures and use them in methods that expects strings. Plus, it would be ease to extend this interface to, e.g., URLs, sockets, etc., and having them to function appropriately.

What do you guys/gals think?

7 Likes

I feel the same way occasionally, even though I was complaining about it being a bit baroque the time I was using CL. I guess that’s karma for me :wink:

I think this could be a neat approach; the only caveat I see is supporting all of the string interface as the set of valid pathnames may not be closed under all string operations. Eg what happens for your type * an arbitrary string (may or may not be a pathname)?

But in any case, I think this is worth experimenting with.

By the way, you are 100% right about this. The term used in Julia for defining someone else’s function on someone else’s type is “type piracy”.