Basic solving equation with NLsove

Total Julia noob here.

So I would like to ultimately solve an equation f(x,a)=0 for x many times as I vary a and plot the solution as a function of a. Before getting to that though, I am first trying to learn to use NLsolve in a very simple case of the function f(x)=x+1.

I am a bit confused on the usage of NLsolve.
Based on the example in the docs GitHub - JuliaNLSolvers/NLsolve.jl: Julia solvers for systems of nonlinear equations and mixed complementarity problems I try

function f!(F, x)
    F=x+1
end

function j!(J,x)
    J=1
end

NLsolve(f!, j!, 1)

(I am unsure of what to put in the third argument of NLsolve which I guess is the initial condition but I tried a couple things like 1 and [ 0.1; 1.2] which was in the example).

I get this error: https://paste.gg/p/anonymous/d15bfc129c704142888eebc455d3c82c

I would like this to tell me that x=-1.
Any recommendations on how to fix error?

Thanks!

NLsolve uses vectors, so you would need to do something like F[1] = x[1] + 1 and J[1] = 1. What you are doing just assigns new values locally.

Thanks. So now I try:

function f!(F, x)
    F[1]=x[1]+1
end

function j!(J,x)
    J[1]=1
end

NLsolve(f!, j!, 1)

I get:

MethodError: objects of type Module are not callable

Stacktrace:
[1] top-level scope at In[9]:8

NLsolve is the name of the module.
nlsolve is the function (all lower case).

The last argument should be [1], a single-element vector, since your function is 1-dimensional.

Looks like the argument should be [1.0] instead of the int [1], but that’s seems to work thanks.

But now I would like to get a parameter a so that I can solve:
x+a=0 for different a’s.
I try:

for a in range(-1, 1, length=9)
    # a = range(-1, 1, length=9)?
    # for i in length(a)?
    function f!(F, x)
        F[1]=x[1]+a
    end

function j!(J,x)
        J[1]=1
    end

nlsolve(f!, j!, 1.0) 
end

MethodError: no method matching nlsolve(::var"#f!#13"{Float64}, ::var"#j!#14", ::Float64)