Base packages for all users

Hi all,

I’m an administrator of a shared compute cluster, and I’d like to provide a few packages in a sort of “base environment” for all users on the system. What’s the recommended workflow for this?

Specifically, I’d like to have MPI.jl and CUDA.jl pre-installed for all users, so I can make sure they’re configured correctly for our system.

Many thanks,
Ron

Ron Rahaman
Research Scientist II
Partnership for an Advanced Computing Environment (PACE)
Georgia Institute of Technology

7 Likes

Hi! Welcome!

At NERSC they have JULIA_DEPOT_PATH and JULIA_LOAD_PATH pointing to a place where they installed the packages. When you do module load julia these environment variables get defined, so when you use Julia you have access to those packages. They do it especifically for things like MPI.jl
Unfortunately I am not familiar with the specifics.

3 Likes

@RonRahaman - you are at GT?
Cool, I am at GTRI.
If you could DM me your email, we could set up a time to chat - happy to assist. :slight_smile:

~ tcp :deciduous_tree:

1 Like

Doesn’t DEPOT path cause compilation of packages like IJulia to error because they try to write to read-only path?

Edit: Moved to PM

You can have multiple depots, and I seem to remember only the first one is supposed to be writable.

2 Likes

That would make sense. In nersc the first entry is the user depot.

julia> ENV["JULIA_DEPOT_PATH"]
"/global/homes/u/username.julia:/global/common/cori_cle7/software/julia/packages/intel/1.4.2/julia:/global/common/cori_cle7/software/julia/julia/1.4.2/local/share/julia:/global/common/cori_cle7/software/julia/julia/1.4.2/share/julia"

Is this documented anywhere?

https://docs.julialang.org/en/v1/base/constants/#Base.DEPOT_PATH

1 Like

Ah! Thanks. I was reading this one Environment Variables · The Julia Language