Base.@ccallable blows chunks

Not much documentation out there I have found to help me with this. Do we not allow setting of references in the @ccallable function? I’ve had this problem with every function I tried to define as @ccallable for use in a C-library with PackageCompiler. This is my first time attempting to use PacakgeCompiler.

The code:

const inputRef=Ref{julia_input_data}(julia_input_data())
const isCalculationValid=Ref{Bool}(false)

Base.@ccallable function julia_reset_inputRef()::Cint
    inputRef[]=julia_input_data()
    isCalculationValid[]=false
    return Cint(0)
end

The output (sanitized)

ERROR: LoadError: cannot document the following expression:
#= c:\mydir\mypackage\src\mypac_ccall_interface.jl:87 =# 
        #= c:\mydir\mypackage\src\mypac_ccall_interface.jl:87 =#
        #= c:\mydir\mypackage\src\mypac_ccall_interface.jl:88 =#
        inputRef[] = julia_input_data()
        #= c:\mydir\mypackage\src\mypac_ccall_interface.jl:89 =#
        isCalculationValid[] = false
        #= c:\mydir\mypackage\src\mypac_ccall_interface.jl:90 =#
        return Cint(0)
    end

'Base.var"@ccallable"' not documentable. See 'Bas

That error usually shows up when you try to attach a docstring to a macro call that returns a compound expression but lacks Base.@__doc__ marking which subexpressions the docstring is attached to, see here. If you @macroexpand the @ccallable expression you can see it’s a compound expression. It’s strange because your code doesn’t have docstrings at all.

That’s because I didn’t give you that part. :slight_smile:

"The julia_reset_inputs will disassociate the previous mutable structure reference with the inputRef pointer and create a new julia_input_data object to be referenced."
function julia_reset_inputRef()::Cint
    return Cint(0)
end

So you are saying that I can’t have a docstring attached to any function that uses Base.@ccallable?

I think you may be a genius. Any way to properly document C-library designated functions?