Backwards compatability support of the new return codes to Symbols will be deprecated

I’m very new to Julia so I might be misinterpreting what’s happening here.

When solving a stiff differential equation I am constantly getting “Backwards compatability support of the new return codes to Symbols will be deprecated with the Julia v1.9 release” (sic)

I just use: (the equation is complicated but I am not using symbols (?) )

ODEProblem(Bloch!,u0_i,tspan,p_i)
solve(prob, alg, saveat=time_save_step, dtmin=dtmin, maxiters=maxiters,reltol=reltol,abstol=abstol,force_dtmin=force_dtmin)

It directs me to: retcodes.jl

then

function Base.convert(::Type{ReturnCode.T}, retcode::Symbol)
    @warn "Backwards compatability support of the new return codes to Symbols will be deprecated with the Julia v1.9 release. Please see https://docs.sciml.ai/SciMLBase/stable/interfaces/Solutions/#retcodes for more information"

How shall I prepare my code to avoid this warning? or How can I avoid these warnings when I run the scripts and the code in REPL?

Thanks

There was a recent change from symbols to enums in return codes, see here: Change return codes to Enum · Issue #867 · SciML/DifferentialEquations.jl · GitHub

Are you checking the return code somewhere? Something like:

sol = solve(…)
if sol.retcode == :success
…
end

The new way of doing that would be:

sol = solve(…)
if sol.retcode == SciMLBase.Success
…
end

Hard to debug further without seeing the code, but the warning is definitely related to this. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thank you.

Actually, I am not checking anything, at least not explicitly. I believe DifferentialEquations is doing it. Does that make sense?

A snip of the code showing (a simplified version of ) the differential equations and the solver is shown below

using Plots; gr()
using LinearAlgebra
using Statistics
using DifferentialEquations, ODEInterfaceDiffEq

## SOLVER PARAMETERS [https://diffeq.sciml.ai/stable/basics/common_solver_opts/]