Automated distribution fitting

Dear community,

I am not an expert in statistics, so maybe this question is a bit naive. I have a data vector with ~10^6 entries (between [0,1]) and want to identify a distribution which fits best to that data. I wonder if there is a possibility to do this automatically, i.e., passing the data to a function which returns the best fitting distribution and its parameters. I’m aware of the Distributions.jl package but I have not found an option there.

Thank you in advance, michael

2 Likes

The difficulty here is how one defines the word “best”.

Some distributions/cases you want to remove the first bin of your data, other’s not. Sometimes you can fit the bulk of a PDF but miss out on a critical effect. While a runner up may do more poorly on the bulk and better on that effect. Which one is the best? Depends on the use case.

It’s really best not to automate this decision in my eyes. If you are fitting a distribution you are likely making assumptions involving your data which should likely go further then “gives the lowest figure or merit”. I’m sure others would disagree.

3 Likes

https://juliastats.github.io/Distributions.jl/stable/fit/

Maybe you wanna fit on a bunch of distributions and then check how good each is using some goodness-of-fit measure?

using Distributions

dist = [Cauchy{Float32}, Normal, Uniform]
x = rand(1000)
fd = fit.(dist, Ref(x))

# Winning Distributions
fd[findmax(loglikelihood.(fd, Ref(x)))[2]]

Don’t blame me if your teacher gives you bad grades…

5 Likes

In addition to @anon92994695’s excellent answer, also note that there is an infinite number of distributions; it’s just that some of them have a name and a parametric family for historical/convenience reasons. Any increasing function F: \mathbb{R} \to [0,1] (with some technical properties related to measurability) defines a distribution. People usually use “named” distributions/families as building blocks.