Array/Vector multiplication for single element arrays

Hi, I’m a long term Matlab user just starting to wade into the world of Julia, so forgive me if my question is naive.

I’m am currently writing some code to perform a number of matrix manipulation tasks. I came across what to me seems like a limitation of the * operator on Arrays. Since I am new to Julia, I think the limitation is probably my understanding, not the language.

Say I have the following function

function double(A::Array{<:Real}, B::Array{<:Real})
    C = A*B
    2*C
end

which I evaluate as follows

julia> A = [1 2;3 4]
2×2 Array{Int64,2}:
 1  2
 3  4

julia> B = [5;6]
2-element Array{Int64,1}:

julia> double(A,B)

This all works as expected. Now what if A and B are defined as shown below

julia> A = [1;2]

julia> B = [3]
1-element Array{Int64,1}:

julia> double(A,B)
ERROR: MethodError: no method matching *(::Array{Int64,1}, ::Array{Int64,1})

So even though this multiplication is mathematically valid it doesn’t evaluate successfully. I have solved this by extending the the * operator using the following function

function Base.:*(A::Array{<:Number,1}, B::Array{<:Number,1})
    if length(A) == 1
        A[1]*B
    elseif length(B) == 1
        A*B[1]
    else
        error("Array dimensions not suitable for multiplication.")
    end
end

This works fine, however, it feels to me like this is not good practice. I was hoping someone could provide some advice on a more “Julian” way of dong this, or if this is indeed a suitable approach.

Thanks in advance, Will.

So the problem here is you have confused * and .* the first is matrix multiplication. The second is vectorized multiplication which is what you want. In general, to apply an operation element-wise, use f. (the dot goes before for infix functions).

Oscar, thanks for the prompt reply.