Array of structures vs. Structures of arrays

Hi all,

I am trying my first steps with CUDA.jl and I have a question about memory layout. I have a simple unmutable structure, for example:

struct Angles
  x::SVector{3, Float64}
end

I have operations like

function add!(r::Angles, x::Angles, y:.Angles)
  for k in 1:3
    r.x[i] = x.x[i] + y.x[i]
  end
  return nothing
end

function myexp!(r::Angles, x::Angles)
  r.x[1] = sin(x.x[1])
  r.x[2] = cos(x.x[2])
  r.x[3] = exp(x.x[3])
  return nothing
end

And finally I would like to perform these operations in parallel on the GPU:

r_d = CuArray{Angles,1}(1000)

function kernel_operation!(r, x, y)
  index = (blockIdx().x - 1) * blockDim().x + threadIdx().x
  stride = blockDim().x * gridDim().x

tmp = Angles(0.0, 0.0, 0.0)
  for i = index:stride:length(y)
        myexp!(tmp, x[i])
        add!(r, tmp, y [i])
    end

What worries me (I am new to CUDA.jl) is that this would be very innefficient in, for example, C. You want the dimension of the array you paralelize to be contiguos in memory, while this layout produces the components of Angles contiguous in memory. Also I would like to make sure that the routines myexp! and add! are inlined inside the loop.

What are the canonical ways to approach these problems in CUDA.jl? Are there easy ways to create an Structure of arrays, but having the possibility to define these elementary add! and myexp! routines and having them inlined?

Thanks

Hi, you can have a look at :

2 Likes

StructArrays should work for this. The main caveat is that SVector has a nested layout (it has a Tuple inside that actually holds the elements), so you should tell StructArrays to “unwrap” that:

using StructArrays, StaticArrays
x = StructArray([SA[1, 2, 3], SA[4, 5, 6]], unwrap = t -> t <: Tuple)

Otherwise, you could just work with Tuples instead of SVectors, that is

using StructArrays
x = StructArray([(1, 2, 3), (4, 5, 6)])