Are there guidelines or rules of thumb on how to stack hidden layers in a RNN?

I’m currently working on the prediction of chaotic data and I have decided to see how well would an RNN, namely an LSTM, would do. I am fairly new to the topic of Neural Networks, but I have found a spate of helpful resources along the way, including this forum.

One aspect that I am still having trouble with is how to structure the layers of an RNN? By “to structure” I mean the number of layers and their ordering. For instance, on this Julia discourse post, we can see the following RNN model

function LSTM_model(N,num_of_classes)
	model = Chain(LSTM(N,200),
		        Dropout(0.2),
		        LSTM(200,200),
		        Dropout(0.1),
		        Dense(200,101),
		        Dropout(0.1),
		        Dense(101,num_of_classes))
	return model
end

The author adopted a structure to the model used for time-series prediction, the same application I’m working on. But what makes it better to have two LSTM layers instead of one? Or why is there a Dropout() after every layer? Why have the LSTM layers before the Dense layers?

On the “Julia for Optimization and Learning” online course maintained by the Czech Technical University, there is a section (that might be a bit outdated) dedicated to training and storing a network. They create a model with Chain and describe each layer’s role:

m = Chain(
    Conv((2,2), 1=>16, relu),
    MaxPool((2,2)),
    Conv((2,2), 16=>8, relu),
    MaxPool((2,2)),
    flatten,
    Dense(288, size(y_train,1)),
    softmax,
)
  • Two convolutional layers extract low-level features from the images.
  • Two pooling layers reduce the size of the previous layer.
  • One flatten layer converts multi-dimensional arrays into one-dimensional vectors.
  • One dense layer is usually applied at the end of the chain.
  • One softmax layer is usually the last one and results in probabilities.