Apply interpolation functions on columns of a dataframe

Hello,

I’m a beginner in Julia…
i have:

1. a dataframe with 4 columns and 10 rows
  2. three functions u1, u2, u3
  3. a vector of 3 weights

And i want to create a function (arguments : the dataframe, the 3 functions and the weights ) this function must return a vector built as follows

• we apply the function u1 on values of column 2, the function u2 on values of column 3, the function u3 on values of column 4
  • then we do, for each row, a weighted sum with vector w
  • so, we have at the end a vector with 10 values

I’ve tried (with help of the community) by using transform but it doesn’t work with functions obtained by linear interpolations.

using Interpolations
x1=sort(vf[1][:,2])
y1=reverse(vf[1][:,1])
f1=LinearInterpolation(x1,y1)

where vf[1] is 3x2 matrix

Have you an idea ?
Thanks for for your help.

What does the error say?

Can you please provide a minimum working example?

LinearInterpolation does not produce a Function but a functor. to turn f1 into a function use an anonymous function wrapper x -> f1(x) or composition identity∘f1.

Two things could be done:

1. allow functors in DataFrames.jl (I am hesitant as it will make even harder for users to reason about the transformation minilanguage)
  2. As maintainers of LinearInterpolation to make it a Function (I do not know the details why it is not a function).
1 Like

This is interesting. I will see if there is something I can do in DataFramesMeta that helps this.

In @transform you would do something along the lines of

@transform df : y = identity(f1(...))

It doesn’t work with identity

using DataFrames, DataFramesMeta, Interpolations

df = DataFrame(u1 = rand(10), u2 = rand(10), u3 = rand(10))

vf = [[0 25000; 0.5 10000; 1 8000],
    [0 32; 0.5 29; 1 26],
    [0 45; 0.5 37; 1 30],
    [0 0; 0.5 2; 1 4],
    [0 0; 0.5 3; 1 4]];

x1=sort(vf[1][:,2]);
y1=reverse(vf[1][:,1]);
f1=LinearInterpolation(x1,y1);

x2=sort(vf[2][:,2]);