Anyone crazy enough to develop a pure Julia GUI toolbox?

I clearly have had way too much time on my hands lately because I have begun to investigate developing a gui toolbox and widgets similar to GTK or Qt only written in pure Julia. My reasons for this are:

that for the life of me I cannot figure out GTK, no matter how many tutorials I watch,
GTK does not seem to play very well with Julia although it is just as likely to be me not being able to play well with GTK

GTK and Qt do not have direct support for Julia

Julia’s format and syntax it’s bound to be easier to use,

implement the speed of Julia in GUI development

And I really don’t want to learn C++ just to make a simple database input form (which truth be told is all I really want to do). I am only a simple biologist.

And (in case you haven’t figured it out) I’m kinda up to here with the available options

If there is already a project out there doing this, I’m not looking to steal thunder and will gladly contribute to that project.

20 Likes

Do you know about Home · Gtk.jl?

Edit: Also, https://github.com/barche/QML.jl and https://genieframework.com/

5 Likes

Unless you’re really passionate about spending the next 10+ years of your life doing this at the same time that you learn the domain you’re working in, I would encourage you to invest your time into learning how to use the existing Julia bindings like GTK.jl and then build an alternative API on top of them that you find more accessible.

To understand why I’d recommend that route, consider that GTK has ~72,000 commits made so far to its codebase. Under an extremely rough approximation that a full-time software engineer can produce about 1,000 commits a year, this is 72 years of full-time work. Of course, this is rough approximation, but it’s probably right that somewhere between 10 and 100 years of work have gone into GTK. So if you’re going alone, you’re signing up for that timeline.

39 Likes