Any way to add outer while loops programmatically?

I have never come across this need before. I think maybe with meta-programming it is possible, but I have never done that before.

I have a function which takes an integer input nknots. For every increase in nknots by one, I need to add one more outer while loop to the code than was there for the original value. (I also need to add one more line of code per nknot with the current version, but I think this could be handled by an interior for loop.) So far, I have been hard-coding a pseudo-method for every possible value of the integer behind if statements. However, I would like to make the code generic so that it can take any integer value larger than 2. The code looks very uniform with all the hard-coded numbers easy to turn into n’s, but I don’t know how to add the outer while loops in a loop.

I need help replacing the portion of the code below inside the if statement with something generic. If nknots==3, only the innermost while loop should be used. If nknots==4, only the inner two while loops should be used. If nknots==6, an outer while loop should be added resembling the others. Ad infinitum.

using ElasticArrays
# Computes all possible knot locations on a dataset with `il` number of points, for a minimum segment length of `ilsegmin` and `nknots` number of knots.
function allknots(il::Int,ilsegmin::Int,nknots::Int)

# Initialize first knot combination
    knots=ElasticArray{Int}(undef,nknots,1) # Create data storage structure for knots
    j=1 # Possible knot location counter
    knots[1]=1
    for n=2:nknots-1
        knots[n]=knots[n-1]+ilsegmin-1
    end
    knots[nknots]=il

if nknots==5

# Determine all remaining knot combinations
    while knots[nknots-3,j] < il-3*ilsegmin+3 # Move thrid from last knot incrementally
        while knots[nknots-2,j] < il-2*ilsegmin+2 # Move second to last knot incrementally
            while knots[nknots-1,j] < il-ilsegmin+1 # Move last knot incrementally