[ANN] Shrike.jl: Julia beats optimized C++ (Fast accurate approximate nearest neighbor search)

I wrote a Julia package (Shrike.jl) for approximate nearest neighbor search. My algorithm draws heavily on the mrpt algorithm and uses the same principles behind annoy (a popular approximate nearest neighbor package by Spotify). My Julia implementation beat both of them! See the Shrike.jl/README.md for details.

I was shocked and thrilled! I am no Julia expert, but the fact that I was able to outperform about 2000 lines of C++ in 500 lines of Julia is a real testament to the power of the language.

As a caveat, I should mention that writing Shrike.jl wasn’t simple. I spent a lot of time learning about and testing different Julia optimizations strategies.

This is my first time making a public Julia package and I am planning to figure out how to add it to the registry. Any suggestions or feedback on the package would be appreciated. For instance, where can I leave out type annotations and not have it impact performance?

59 Likes

8 posts were split to a new topic: Naming diversion for Shrike.jl

This looks great!
Have you considered porting it to MLJ.jl?
They currently have 150+ supported models (including NearestNeighborModels.jl).

7 Likes

Great! Is this package comparable to the widely used and extremely efficient NearestNeighbors.jl? If yes, can you benchmark against as well? That would be a good reference to have.

1 Like

He does this exact benchmark in the readme IIUC

2 Likes

I see the plots now. I wish they were numbers though with comparable scenarios in the sense that each parameter combination is “equivalent”. I cannot fully support the statement in the README that says:

It is important to note that NearestNeighbors.jl was designed to return the exact k-nearest-neighbors as quickly as possible, and does not approximate, hence the high accuracy and lower speed.