[ANN] QRCode.jl: Create QR Code within Julia

Simply use add QRCode to play with it. Here is the source and the documentation.

This is my first project in Julia, so I’m looking for feedback on my code. I’m interested in making it more idiomatic, and possibly more efficient (as far as I know, there is a lot of room to improve).

In the mean time, I hope this tool can be useful for the community. The package was created during the Efficient Scientific Computing with Julia workshop, taught by Valentin Churavy at the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology in July 2019. It seems I cannot post more than 2 links at the moment, links to all these things are available on the README on GitHub.

26 Likes

Neat! Exporting in vector formats (PDF or SVG) would be nice, too.

2 Likes

Hey, this is great! I needed this a few weeks ago, trying the #betterposter thing (which recommends using a QR code to link to further information).

Making SVG or PDF is easy enough:

using Luxor, QRCode

qrc = qrcode("https:/www.julialang.org")

@svg begin
    tiles = Tiler(250, 250, size(qrc)..., margin=0)
    squares = first.(tiles)
    for x in eachindex(qrc)
        if qrc[x]
            box(squares[x], tiles.tilewidth, tiles.tileheight, :fill)
        end
    end
end 250 250 "/tmp/qrcode"

I like the idea of pushing the graphics until the QR code is only just readable. This just about works:

qrc = qrcode("https:/www.julialang.org")

@svg begin
    tiles = Tiler(250, 250, size(qrc)..., margin=0)
    setline(0.5)
    squares = first.(tiles)
    @layer begin
        for (n, pt) in enumerate(box(O, 140, 140, vertices=true))
            sethue([Luxor.julia_purple, Luxor.julia_blue,  Luxor.julia_red,  Luxor.julia_green][n])
            circle(pt, 50, :fill)
        end
    end
    for x in eachindex(qrc)
        if qrc[x]
            sethue("black")
            box(squares[x], tiles.tilewidth, tiles.tileheight, :fill)
        end
    end
end 250 250 "/tmp/qrcode"