[ANN] Electrum.jl - a kit for building chemical theory tools

Electrum.jl provides data types and methods that can be used to build tools for solid-state chemistry, aiming to assist those new to both solid-state chemistry and programming.

Background

I started graduate school in a solid state chemistry research group, and one thing is clear: only a small number of us enter the field with experience in software development. A significant portion of commonly used code is writting in C or FORTRAN, but these languages are difficult to approach for those who have minimal experience with code. On top of this, the maintenance of academic code (especially with low level languages!) can be very difficult, especially when nobody has experience with version control and environment management. I’ve seen my share of code whose purpose has been lost to time due to a lack of documentation, comments, descriptive variable names, or organization.

I started learning Julia to solve the two-language problem in my field, and built Electrum initially to perform simple tasks like constructing supercells or reading data from the file formats we commonly use. However, I came to realize that what I was doing could be used to accomplish far more, and could be used as a framework for learning solid-state chemistry and building new theoretical tools that are more accessible to those just entering the field.

Features

Electrum provides data types to handle commonly encountered objects in solid state chemistry: for instance, lattice basis vectors are described by the RealBasis and ReciprocalBasis types, lists of atomic positions in a crystal by PeriodicAtomList, data grids with DataGrid (and its subtype aliases RealDataGrid and ReciprocalDataGrid), wavefunctions in a planewave basis with PlanewaveWavefunction, just to name a few.

Geometry