ANN: DynamicHMC 2.0

DynamicHMC 2.0 was just released. I wrote a blog post about the changes and the new features.

There are breaking API changes, please read the documentation.

Feel free to ask support questions here.

32 Likes

@Tamas_Papp thanks a lot for the updated version of your package!
I am a newbie in this field of MCMC for Bayesian estimation… I hope you don’t mind if I use this thread for a bit of help in understanding why my code is not working.

I have quite a complicated loglikelihood function, written in Julia, that can be correctly evaluated.
However, after following the steps in your worked example (transforming the parameters and setting up the gradient) I get an error when I run mcmc_with_warmup():

ArgumentError: nothing should not be printed; use show, repr, or custom output instead.

(This is the full stacktrace)

I wouldn’t be surprised if the problem was in the automatic differentiation, since the loglikelihood is quite an involved function, but unfortunately I’m not able to understand this error message…

Is there a print statement somewhere in your log likelihood function?

@jkbest2 there are no `print’ statements in the loglikelihood… From what I understand by looking at the stacktrace it seems something related to internal functions of the library

My knowledge in Bayesian is really rusty and I plan to pick it up in the near future. My old textbooks all use BUGS, I recently bought the Statistical Rethinking book but it uses R. The Julian codes for this book in github seem still in progress, many chapters are missing.

Do you have any recommended readings for using your DynamicHMC package?

1 Like

I am happy to help you with this, but I need an MWE.

Yes, there is a bibliography in the README. I would recommend starting with Bayesian Data Analysis. But Statistical Rethinking should also be fine — coding everything is part of the learning process.