An experiment for Python Style (but Unidirectional) Generators for Julia

I find it’s fairly trivial to implement Python style generator functions for Julia, though only unidirectional stream production.

I use yieldto but doc says “Its use is discouraged.”, how idiomatic my approach is? I’m fairly new to Julia, eagerly learning.

Surface syntax:

julia> @generator function g(n::Int)
         m = n * 3
         @yield m
         m += 7
         @yield m
         m -= 9
         @yield m
       end
g (generic function with 1 method)

julia> for i in g(5)
         println(i)
       end

julia> collect(g(5))
3-element Vector{Int64}:

julia>

Implementation source code here:
https://github.com/complyue/PyStyleButUnidirGenerators.jl/blob/main/src/PyStyleButUnidirGenerators.jl

2 Likes

I think the style developed in FGenerators.jl combined with FLoops.jl is a more performant and well founded way to go about this, rather than spawning tasks and trying to properly manage the yielding. But it relies heavily on transducers, so that is a lot of infrastructure to digest and learn.

Here’s an example where I believe your use of yieldto fails:

julia> using .PyStyleButUnidirGenerators

julia> @generator function organpipe(n::Integer)
           i = 0
           while i != n
               i += 1
               @yield i
           end
           while true
               i -= 1
               i == 0 && return
               @yield i
           end
       end;

julia> collect(organpipe(2))

I left this on my computer for about 5 minutes and it never completed. I assumer there is some sort of task deadlock. I think if you want to do this with tasks, you’re better off making a channel, and then put!ing data into that channel at each yield, rather than trying to manage the task switching yourself.

Here’s how FGenerators.jl performs with that organpipe:

julia> using FGenerators

julia> @fgenerator function organpipe(n::Integer)
           i = 0
           while i != n