Am I creating distributions wrong in Turing?

Hello, I’m using Turing and having some issues. To reproduce this, I’ll provide about as simple of an example as I can generate. Let’s take the basic example from the docs (Probabilistic Programming in Thirty Seconds) and modify it only slightly by including a user-generated distribution, with the exact specifications from the docs (Advanced Usage). Then, all that needs to be done is to include these lines of code (defining the struct, and the two functions) and to modify the model declaration so that p ~ Beta(1,1) changes to p ~ CustomUniform(). When I run this code, I get the following error:

LoadError: MethodError: no method matching iterate(::CustomUniform)

What I know so far (disclaimer: I’m fairly new to Julia with more experience in some other languages) is that iterate is not meant to be defined for a distribution, but may be useful for something like an AbstractRNG. Is there a reason I’m getting this error? Maybe something I’ve typed in wrong? I can copy and paste my roughly 40 lines of code but they are quite literally copied and pasted from the docs… anyways, I’d really appreciate any feedback!

1 Like

What versions of libraries do you have? If they’re old, that could explain it.

According to Pkg.status I have Turing 0.13.0 installed. I do see that the latest release is 0.15.18, so this may be the underlying issue. Interestingly though, when I run ] update I don’t get a newer version. Is that maybe something wrong with what’s installed on my device or should there be another way I am updating the packages?

Might not be compatible with your Julia version. Are you on 1.3 or newer?

Try ] add Turing@0.15 to see what’s preventing the update

I’m using version 1.6. When I run that line of code it returns an error: ERROR: Could not determine command.

What exactly did you do to get that error? Can you post your REPL input and output?