Agents.jl Question: collecting data in abm_video

I am new to Julia. I am interested in Agent Based Modeling and planning to use Agents.jl as an alternative to NetLogo. I just finished the first tutorial: Schelling’s segregation.
I need some help with the visualisation. Currently the options provided by Agents.jl are abm_video and abm_data_exploration. For me, abm_data_exploration is an overkill. I will be running in headless mode and I need video for verification/debugging. While the abm_data_exploration returns the figure, agent-data and model-data, the abm_video has no options for data collection and returns nothing.
Currently, I ram going with an ugly hack: I create a deepcopy of the model and using the copy for abm_video. There should be a better solution. I appreciate all help.

Have you tried using abm_play? Does it do what you want to do? If not, I think I misunderstood what you were implicitly asking for.

On a sidenote: We’re in the final steps of reworking the Agents-related plotting functions and options for interactive applications. It will be InteractiveDynamics 0.20.0 and will probably be released together with Agents.jl 5.0. This rework might allow for a more seamless operation of the headless mode you prefer and a interactive view of the model’s space (well, again, at least I think that’s what you’re asking for).

1 Like

Thanks for your reply. ‘abm_play’ will not work. I don’t want to launch an interactive application with buttons. I just want the following: I want to run my ABM in a headless mode and collect data in dataframes. (say) While analyzing the data, I noticed that something odd/interesting is happening at step 120. I should be able to open the (mp4) video and fast forward to step 115 and watch the rest of the video to visually investigate/debug further.