Adding nonlinear constraints in JuMP without hard-coding

Hi,

I am trying to do some kind of cutting-plan algorithm in JuMP.

I currently have the following example:

function generate_model(ydisc :: Vector{Vector{Float64}})
    model = Model(SCIP.Optimizer)

@variable(model, 0 <= x[1:2] <= 6)
    @variable(model,0 <=z<=1)

@objective(model, Min, 10-x[1])
     for (i,ydisc_i) in enumerate(ydisc)
         @NLconstraint(model, ((ydisc_i[1]^2/(1+exp(-40*(x[1]-ydisc_i[1])))+x[1]-ydisc_i[1]-2))<=0)
     end

return model
end

As you can see, the expression for the constraint is hard-coded into the model.
Is there a way that I can define this model for a general user defined function?

#define g outside, perhaps even as a lambda generated by another function
@NLconstraint(model, g(x,y_disc_i)<=0)

Here it says that “All nonlinear expressions must be inside of macros.” Does that mean, that I have to hard-code the functions. (I am new to Julia, usually use more Python or C++). Surprisingly, the EAGO.jl solver seems to have some operatoroverloading, so some experiments I tried only worked with that solver.

Regards

You can use user-defined functions in JuMP, but you have to register them first: Nonlinear Modeling · JuMP. You may want to look at the warnings about raw expressions in the link, if you need more flexibility.

Thanks blob,

thanks for your help.
I already saw that part of the documentation, but there are two problems for me

1. I want to use global solvers, but e.g.
using JuMP;
using Ipopt;
using AmplNLWriter
using Couenne_jll;

square(x) = x^2
f(x, y) = (x - 1)^2 + (y - 2)^2

function run()
#model = Model(Ipopt.Optimizer)
model = Model(() -> AmplNLWriter.Optimizer(Couenne_jll.amplexe))
register(model, :square, 1, square; autodiff = true)
register(model, :my_f, 2, f; autodiff = true)

@variable(model, 0.5<=x[1:2]<=2)
@NLobjective(model, Min, my_f(x[1], square(x[2])))
optimize!(model);
@show value.(model[:x])
end

run()