A problem: writing results to a file in parallel

I’m a newbie in julia language, I’ve written a parallel code using Distributed, and I want to write the intermediate results of the program’s calculations to a file, this is my code.

using Distributed
    # Set up parallel workers
    addprocs(4)
    @everywhere begin
        function my_function(n)
            # Compute the result
            result=n;
            # Open the file in append mode
            f = open("output.txt", "a")
            # # Write the result to the file
            println(f, "Result: ", result)
            close(f)
            # open("output.txt","a",lock=true) do io
            #     write(io,"Result: "*string(result))
            #     write(io,"\r\n")
            # end
            return result
        end
    end
    @distributed for i in 1:10000
        result = my_function(i)
        println("Result for iteration $i: $result")
    end

I want get output.txt as follow:
Result: 1
Result: 2501
Result: 2
Result: 3
Result: 4
Result: 5
Result: 6
Result: 7
Result: 8

but I got:
Result: 2566
Result: 85
Result: 2567
Result: 86
Result: 2568
Result: 87
Result: 2569
Result: 88
Result: 2571
Result: 89
Result: 90
Result: 2573
Result: 7501
Result: 105

Result: 2587
Result: 107

I can`t understand.

You are creating a race condition when multiple processes try to write to the same file simultaneously and end up overwriting one another.

You’ll either need to

• use a lock file to control access (so that only one process writes to at once), e.g. using Pidfile
  • use a a different file format that supports parallel I/O (e.g. parallel HDF5, though that requires you to use MPI).
  • send all of the data you want to output to a single process, and write from that.

The third option is usually the simplest and most robust.

3 Likes

Thank you very much, I will try the third option, the first two were a bit difficult for me.