3d animation plot of 2 ode solutions

Hi, I’m very new to Julia and the plots package. I’d like to plot 2 ode solutions within the same gif. For example, say I’m solving the lorenz function and want to plot two solutions with different parameters in the same animation.

#lorenz solver 
function simulate(params)

function lorenz(du, u, p, t)
        du[1] = p[1]*(u[2]-u[1])
        du[2] = u[1]*(p[2]-u[3]) - u[2]
        du[3] = u[1]*u[2] - p[3]*u[3]  
    end

u0 = [1.; 5.; 10.]
    tspan = (0, 100)
    p = params
    prob = ODEProblem(lorenz, u0, tspan, p)
    sol = solve(prob)
    return sol
end

#two different solutions
sol1 = simulate([10; 28; 8/3])
sol2 = simulate([5;32;10])

#animate
n = length(sol1.t)
plt = plot3d(1, xaxis = ("x" ,(-30, 30)), yaxis = ("y", (-30,30)), zaxis=("z", (0, 60)))
anim = @animate for i in 1:n
    push!(plt, sol1[1,i], sol1[2,i], sol1[3,i])
end

gif(anim, "myGif.gif")

I can’t seem to figure out an elegant way to allow both solutions to be in the same gif. Please let me know of any ideas! Thank you in advance

This is what I typically do.

nframes = 300
anim = @animate for t in LinRange(first(sol1.t), last(sol1.t), nframes)
    plot(sol1, vars = (1,2,3), tspan = (0.0, t), lab = "Solution 1")
    plot!(sol2, vars = (1,2,3), tspan = (0.0, t), lab = "Solution 2")

#current time marker
    scatter!(sol1, vars = (1,2,3), tspan = (t, t), lab = nothing, color = 1)
    scatter!(sol2, vars = (1,2,3), tspan = (t, t), lab = nothing, color = 2)

# axis setting... need to be last b/c DiffEq recipes will overwrite.
    plot!(xaxis = ("x" ,(-30, 30)), yaxis = ("y", (-30,30)), zaxis=("z", (0, 60)),
        title = "t = $(round(t, digits = 2))")
end

gif(anim, "myGif.gif"; fps = 30)

A couple things of note

• Inside each @animate loop you need to create a new figure, not push to an existing one. Each loop will be a frame.
  • I am using a plot recipe for DiffEq. see Plot Functions · DifferentialEquations.jl